Story Workshop Scholarship Fund

The Transom Story Workshop is nine weeks of full-time training for beginning producers, in Woods Hole, Massachusetts on Cape Cod. We offer Workshops in spring (late March – May) and fall (late September – November). The Story Workshop Scholarship is supported by Workshop alumni, Transom supporters, AIR, PRX, MailChimp, This American Life, and Transom itself.

We welcome donations from anyone at any time. Thank you.

Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Credit Card Info
This is a secure SSL encrypted payment.
Billing Details

Donation Total: $50.00

To contribute via mail, please send a check or money order to:

Atlantic Public Media
3 Water Street
P.O. Box 445
Woods Hole, MA 02543

Who is the scholarship for?

Our goal is to make the Story Workshop a realistic option for people who have been unable to attend due to cost. Scholarships will be offered based on financial need with a focus on diverse voices, people of color, and those who have been historically under-represented as makers of public media. Qualification for the Scholarship is considered once the applicant is accepted to the Workshop. For now, Scholarship funds are available only to people living in the U.S.

How much does it cost to attend the Workshop?

The average total cost to attend the Workshop ranges from $9,105 to $9,780. This includes tuition, your own license for Hindenburg Journalist audio editing software, a one-year membership to both the Association of Independents in Radio (AIR) and the Public Radio Exchange (PRX), fees for special guests, gatherings, and events, housing, and two group meals a week. It does not include transportation to and from the Workshop, transportation while you’re here, spending money for food, or additional miscellaneous costs.

How much are Scholarships for?

Transom is prepared to pay one or more partial scholarships, and one full scholarship, if an accepted applicant requires it. A full scholarship includes tuition, housing, group meals, travel to and from Woods Hole and a possible stipend. Partial scholarships range in amount depending on the need of applicants and the amount of scholarship funds available to us.

I can’t apply now. Will the scholarship be available in a year?

We can’t promise, but we hope to make it a forever thing.

Where do the funds for the Scholarship come from?

Funds for the Story Workshop Scholarship primarily come from individuals and organizations that believe in the quality of the training we provide and in the importance of diversifying the public media work force.

Where can I find out more about the Story Workshop?

You can find more information on the Story Workshop here and at our FAQ page.

If you’d like to be notified about all our Workshop news, please write to us at info [at] and we’ll add you to our Workshop email list.

How can I donate to Transom in general?

Simply click here.

Where can I find all the links related to the Story Workshop?


Story Workshop Info
Story Workshop Scholarship Info
Story Workshop FAQs

The Story Workshop Scholarship Fund is currently made possible by the generous support of:

Major Donor:

With additional support from:

AIR (Association of Independents in Radio)
Anon – “on behalf of Studs Terkel”
Atlantic Public Media / Transom
Eric Jones
Ira Glass
Kolin Pope
PRX (Public Radio Exchange)

Also from:

Jay Allison
Samantha Broun
Will Coley
Zach Dyer
Shelby El-Otmani
Morgan Givens
Whitney Jones
Alex Lewis
Sydney Lewis
Tobin Low
Annie McEwen
Viki Merrick
Neenah Pathak
Catherine St. Louis
Lise St. Louis
Josh Swarz
Schuyler Swenson


Barbara Anguiano
Benjamin Becker
Alison Byrne
Martine Chaussard
Mary Decker
Jon Earle
Jennifer Jerrett
Alex Kapelman
Sophie Kazis
Landy Kosmitis
Erika Lantz
Virginia Lora
Kristina Loring
Sophie McKibben
Robin Miniter
Elizabeth Nakano
Martine Powers
Tanner Robbins
Giovana Romano Sanchez
Lee Romney
Melody Rowell
Sarah Schewe
Ruby Schwartz
Annie Sinsabaugh
Joel Supple
Saidu Tejan-Thomas

Scholarship Advisory Board

Daniel Alarcon
Emily Condon
Anayansi Diaz-Cortes
Stephanie Foo
Carolina Guerrero
Ann Heppermann
Kerri Hoffman
Chenjerai Kumanyika
Al Letson
Shereen Marisol Meraji
Doug Mitchell
Sue Robinson
Arun Venugopal
Ngoc-Tran Vu
Glynn Washington